MichiganWashingtonTexas and Alabama have been selected by the College Football Playoff committee to vie for the national championship, leaving out Florida State — the first time in CFP history an undefeated Power 5 champion failed to finish in the top four.

Michigan will face Alabama in the Rose Bowl Game Presented by Prudential, while Washington will play Texas in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. Both semifinal games will be played on New Year’s Day and aired on ESPN.

“We’re going against the best,” Michigan coach Jim Harbaugh said Sunday. “Tradition. Two true blue bloods of football, facing Alabama.

“We’re excited to face them. It’s iconic. It’s Alabama. It’s Roll Tide. It’s doesn’t get any better, to be playing in the Rose Bowl. Just going to appreciate the tradition of the Rose Bowl, playing a great team like Alabama. It always has meaning.”

The Wolverines and Huskies, undefeated conference champions, were shoo-ins to make the CFP. Michigan is in the playoff for the third straight year. Washington, on the other hand, has been in the CFP only once before, losing in the semifinals in the 2016 season.