Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett has been named the 2023 NFL Defensive Player of the Year by the Pro Football Writers of America.

Garrett is a first-time winner of the award, and is the first member of the Browns to win the award, which has been given out annually since 1992.

He beat out of Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt, who won it in 2021, despite Watt leading the NFL with 19 sacks, compared to Garrett’s 14. Watt maintained a consistent statistical advantage across the board, when compared to his AFC North rival.

Watt had 68 tackles, compared to Garrett’s 42. Watt had 19 tackles for loss compared to Garrett’s 17. Watt had 36 quarterback hits compare to 30 for Garrett. Each had four forced fumbles, but Watt had three recoveries compared to Garrett’s one. Watt also returned one of those fumbles for the only defensive touchdown of the season between the two players, which happened to be the game-sealing play in the Week 2 game between the Steelers and Browns at Acrisure Stadium.