Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy as NHL’s MVP, becoming only the second player in the 97-year history of the award to win it unanimously.

McDavid placed first on all 100 ballots from the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Previously, only Wayne Gretzky won the Hart unanimously back in 1981-82, also with the Oilers.

Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews earned 69 second-place votes and placed second overall in the voting after McDavid. Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon was third. McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHLPA’s most outstanding player. Matthews and Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby were the other finalists for the Lindsay.

McDavid led the NHL with 105 points in 56 games. His 1.88 points per game average was the 2nd.

This was his second Hart Trophy and third Lindsay Award win, coupled with his third NHL scoring title. McDavid’s Hart Trophy win followed that of teammate Leon Draisaitl last season. The Oilers are the first team with different Hart Trophy winners in consecutive seasons since the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 (Phil Esposito) and 1969-70 (Bobby Orr).