The pits were overflowing with race cars at Wayne County Speedway Saturday night for another night of great racing. The Ultimate Mid Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series made their first visit to the track for the Hans and Don Gross Memorial. Wooster’s Doug Drown would be the fast qualifier and would make a last lap run to second place in the dash to start the feature on the outside front row beside Dash winner, Rod Conley. At the drop of the green flag of the 30 lap race, Drown would set sail in the Ely Road Reel, Wooster Glass and ABR Farms #12 and drive away for his third win of the Hans andar Don Gross Memorial race and his third win of the year at WCS. Behind Drown was some back and forth action as Conley and Ryan Markham dueled for second with Corey Conley, JR Gentry, Jerry Bowersock and Cody Scott battled for fourth. Bowersock and Gentry would bump coming out of turn four on lap five that sent Bowersock sliding into the infield and into a retaining tire and end his night. Scott powered his way past Markham on lap 14 to take third and four laps later cleared Rod Conley for second. Markham would start to fade as the two #14’s of Corey Conley and Gentry, who were the heat winners, would move past Markham with four circuits to go following a caution flag. This would also give Scott one last chance at Drown but Drown would sprint away for the win. Rod Conley held on to third at the finish line while Corey Conley finished fourth in front of Gentry. Scott would earn the Accu-Force Shocks and Kar Connection hard charger award.

  The OVSCA Sprints were in for their second visit of the season with 37 sprinters checking in with Dean Jacobs setting the fast time and would start the feature on the outside front row and lead the opening lap. Coming out of turn two on the next circuit, Orrville’s Broc Martin would power past Jacobs for the top spot and the Jim Smith Enterprises, Orrville Trucking and Accu-Force Shocks #83 was uncatchable and pick up his first win of the season. Dean Jacobs would run second until lap 18 when mechanical issues slowed the #9 sprinter and he would pull off the track. This would put Lee Jacobs into the runner up spot with a three car battle between TJ Michael, Jordan Ryan and Brandon Spithaler for third. With three laps to go, Michael would also drop from the race as Ryan secured third place but could not mount up a strong enough charge to take second from Jacobs. Spithaler would take home fourth place as Tyler Street crossed the line in fifth. Dean and Lee Jacobs along with Ryan and Ricky Peterson won the heat races. The two last chance winners were Dylan Kingan and Tom Schinderle, who also captured the hard charger award by moving up 12 positions in the feature.

  Matt Shroyer used his pole position starting spot to lead the first half of the McKenzie Concrete Super Stock main as eighth starting Kyle Moore was working his way past John Wilson, Tyler Wiles, Jimmy Humphrey and Don Rutt to move into second on lap five. Moore and the Mansfield based  R.C Kuhn & Sons, Smith Fabricating and Met’s Machine Shop #21d would take the lead on lap nine. Wiles, Seth Dickerson and Brandon Craver would race for third until the final lap when Shroyer would smack the turn one guardrail to end his evening. On the final restart, after Wilson got into the back of Moore that sent Wilson to the tail, Wiles would make a run at Moore for the win but would come up short to Moore, who claimed his second win in two weeks. Craver would finish third with Dickerson and Baney, the hard charger of the race, filled out the top five. Moore and Chase Alexander won the heat races. For the Bob Daugherty owned #21d, it was the cars 4th win of the season.

  Four different drivers spent time leading the JoyRide Transport Mini Stock feature with Brent Boreman Leading the first five laps before Chris Workman took over but his time leading was only two laps and following a restart on lap eight, was bumped into the guardrail in turn one to stop his chances of winning. This would put Cory Staley into the top spot but Loudonville’s Jordan James was along side and James would squeeze by coming out of turn four with the white flag in the air. The Thompson Memorials, Brad’s Auto Body and Sprang’s Truck & RV Center # 83 of James would stave off Staley’s last charge and win for the second week in a row. Boreman would finish a season best third with Dustin Bedlion, the hard charger, and Anthony Collins rounding out the top five. James, Boreman, Collins and Workman bested the heat races while Stephen Crowe captured the last chance win.

  Next Saturday, August 1st, the NOS Energy World of Outlaw Sprints return to “Orrville’s Historic Oval” for the first time in 35 years. Hometown driver Sheldon Haudenschild will lead the best sprint car drivers in the world to the 3/8 mile oval. The McKenzie Concrete Super Stocks will also be racing.