It was a full house of fans and cars at Wayne County Speedway Sunday evening for the Pete Jacobs Memorial as the Sprint cars were chasing after the $13,000 winners share for the feature. Dash winner Lee Jacobs would take his pole position spot and lead the opening eight circuits with fifth starting Cap Henry grabbing second on the first lap with fast qualifier Tim Shaffer taking third from Tyler Street om lap three. The red flag would wave on lap six when Trey Jacobs flipped in turn two as he was ok but ended his night. On the restart, Henry would put the pressure on Jacobs for the lead while Shaffer and Jac Haudenschild dueled for third. Henry would power past Jacobs coming out of turn two and take the lead on lap nine and on the next circuit, Haudenschild motored past Jacobs for second with Shaffer taking third the next lap from Jacobs. Following a caution on lap 17, Haudenschild would try sliders in turn one and two the next two laps but Henry would crossover both times to hold off the Sprintcar Hall of Famer. From that point on, Henry and his Beer Barrel Bourbon, F K Rod Ends and Linder’s #4 would begin to pull away as Haudenschild tagged the wall in both corners of the track to try and chase Henry back down but could not catch back up to Henry as the checkered flag flew. For Henry, this was his third win at WCS this season as the Republic driver won the OVSCA race on June 13th and won the Speedweek Duffy Smith Memorial on July 6th. Haudenschild finished second followed by Shaffer and Cale Conley with Cole Duncan taking fifth. Heat winners were Stuart Brubaker, Lee Jacobs, Henry and Street as each of them picked up $100 for the win plus a trophy that each of them donated to a youngster in the stands. Shaffer picked up $250 for the fast time with Chris Myers collecting another $250 for the hard charger and Trey Jacobs getting a gift certificate from Wilwood Brakes for the hard luck award.

  The Steel Block Late Model Series made their first ever visit to ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’ and the first ten laps of the 25 car feature was marred by several cautions but things settled down. Nick Corbitt led the opening 16 circuits with Poca WV’s Zach Milbee and points leader Pete Crum in pursuit. After a lap 16 yellow flag, Milbee and his Dohm Cycles, Octane Race Products and Finish 1 Auto Body #5m swiped the top spot away from Corbitt as Crum would make it a three car race. With the laps dwindling down, Clint Keenan challenged Corbitt and Crum for second as Milbee began to pull away. Crum secured second with two circuits to go as Corbitt fended of Keenan’s charge for third as Matt Melvin filled out the top five. Crum, Milbee and Keenan bested the heat races with David Giaugue collecting the Accu Force Dyno’s & Testers Hard Charger award.

  Brandon Craver used the pole position to lead the first lap of the McKenzie Concrete Super Stock main but after that it was fifth starting Mansfield’s Kyle Moore taking over and he would breeze to his fourth win of the season aboard the Bob Daugherty owned, R C Kuhn & Sons, Met’s Machine and Smith Fabricating #21d. Craver kept second place from Seth Dickerson, Took Wiles and Chase Alexander until two laps to go when Craver’s car slowed and brought out the caution. This negated Moore’s big lead and gave the field a chance to steal the win from Moore on the double file restart, but he would not have anyone taking the win from him as he once again pulled away for the win. Dickerson was second as Took Wiles finished third after coming back from causing a caution. Chase Alexander ran fourth as Don Rutt came back to finish fifth after also bring out the caution flag earlier in the race. Moore and Wiles notched the heat wins.

  The Modifieds finished the night out with one of the most competitive races of the year and the last two laps were like seeing who the best strongman was. Jimmy Smith took the outside pole position to set the pace for the opening three laps but sixth starting Kyle Moore took over at that point with Nathon Loney and Doug Drown putting Smith back to fourth on the next lap. A caution on lap six double filed the field and when the green waved again, both Loney and Drown moved past Moore with Drown claiming the point from Loney on the next trip around. Following a lap 11 caution, the field began to line up when Loney’s car came to a stop with mechanical issues and had to be towed off. The race turned into a back and forth, slide job and croos overs for the rest of the way as Moore led lap 12, Drown took over for the next two lap then Moore for two laps and then Drown for the next three including the white flag lap. As the two came out of turn two on the last lap, they made hard contact with each other with the cars getting out of shape, Moore was able to get his back under control quicker than Drown could and beat him back to the finish line by just a car length. For Moore and his Kepling Flooring, Moore’s Used Tires and Arnold Motorsports #11*, it would be his sixth modified win at WCS. following Drown was Smith, Robbie Ledger and Mark Gardiner. Heat winners were Moore and Loney.

  A big thanks to DAC Equine Vitamins and Supplements, Rod Ends Supply, Outerwears, Schoenfeld, Hoosier Tires, Simpson Race Products, Kear’s Speedshop, Kistler Racing, Engler, and Accu Force for their partnership for the nights races.

  The next race will be on Friday, September 25 when the NOS Energy World of Outlaw Sprint cars return for the make up from the July race with the Super Stock in action also.